Gluten Free Cleansing Grains

I’ve been making cleansing grains for my own personal use for about four years, now. I read about them first in Rosemary Gladstar’s book. Cleansing grains traditionally use ground oats as the exfoliation  For people like myself who are gluten free, avoiding even coming in contact with gluten is a good idea, not just avoiding eating it. Most oats have gluten (you can find a gluten free variety), so I opted to use other natural ingredients for exfoliating. I purchase all of my ingredients for body care recipes from Mountain Rose Herbs and I encourage you to do the same. They have fair practices, are environmentally conscious and offer a wide range of organic items. We buy our organic coconut oil for eating there, too.

Anyhow, I needed to make a fresh batch for my shop so I decided I’d take some pictures along the way and post a tutorial… if you can even call it that! It’s just tossing some ingredients together.

I’ve adapted my recipe from Rosemary’s, but if you want to try your hand at making traditional cleansing grains how she describes, then you can find that recipe in her book.

Gather your ingredients:

2 cups kaolin clay (white clay)

1/2 cup apricot kernel meal

1/2 cup ground coconut flakes

1/4 cup lavender flower powder

1/4 cup pink rose petal flower

You’ll also need a large bowl and measuring spoons. Feel free to collect the measuring spoons from your toddler’s play kitchen utensils  Oh, that’s just me? Ha.

Combine all ingredients and mix well. Mix carefully! The clay is extremely light and will fling all over the place if you get a little over zealous with your stirring.

I like to put this in pretty canning jars for storage. This makes a great gift, too! Tie a cute ribbon with a tag and you’re done!

To use, just put 1-2 teaspoons on your palm and make a paste with a little water. Massage into your (dampened) face, work in to trouble spots (nose, forehead). Leave on your face at least 5 minutes. I like to do this ritual in the shower. I put it on my face first thing (after I dampen my face and hair) and then do everything else. I rinse my face off last and that way it’s had a nice 10 minutes or so to sit!

It’s best to just use this once a week or twice at most. Even though it doesn’t feel particularly ‘rough’, it still does a good job of scrubbing and you don’t want to scrub your delicate face skin too often. And some people find the clay to be a bit drying, so keep that in mind if you’re prone to dry skin.

Leave a Reply

