Resolutions and Goals

I *love* making New Year’s resolutions. A new year feels so new and fresh and a clean slate emerges. I need that kind of thing from time to time (once a year for a nice big one is great!).

This year our goals are:

  • Finish our home renovations (this is upstairs only). This includes:
    • New Flooring (whole house)
    • Painting (whole house – interrior)
    • Trim (whole house)
    • New guest bath
    • New mater bath (X)
    • New kitchen
  • Sticking to our GAPS diet. We are doing Intro for the month of January, and then full GAPS.
  • Simplifying more. Getting rid of more stuff weighing us down. Not trying to do too much.
  • Less TV and computer time. We watch very little TV, but the computer can really suck us in. And none before bed.
  • Spend more time outside, even when the weather isn’t great.
  • Keep up with our bedtime routine, but don’t get bent out of shape if it doesn’t go according to plan. I need to work on this.
  • Keep reading the books on my ‘To-Read’ list. Currently reading Naomi Aldort’s Raising Our Children, Raising Ourselves.
  • Keep up with blogging. Wednesday Yarn Along, Friday {this moment} and Gratitude*Sunday.
  • Work on patience. As always!
  • Continue to de-plasticify our lives.
  • Eat as much local food as possible.
  • Start a garden.

What are your goals for 2013?

 

4 thoughts on “Resolutions and Goals

  1. I love the spending time outside goal… (: People get really locked up if the weather isn’t perfect sometimes.

    I also like writing lists… especially new year’s resolutions. Mine are:
    -Be more conscious of my tone in cultural situations
    -Continue to see the best in people and don’t let the few bad situations fade life
    -Be patient and a comfort-home for my son as he goes through this next year of learning.
    -Ensure a plan for Nico’s (my son’s) future in case I die.
    -Learn new skills each month. Pick 12 for the year. (Auto repair, Shooting, Sewing, Cooking, Riding, Gardening, Lock picking, Architecture are my first several months)
    -Engage in life instead of just waiting around for a boy as he may never come after all.
    -Write to Nico twice a month. Also shoot photo and video very often <1 time a month.
    -Get down to 3 anytime dresses, 2 summer and 2 winter.
    -Regain minimalism.
    -Plan at least one international trip with Nicolas. (Africa?)
    -Have an open soul. Learn from every situation and be completely open to others ideas.

    (: Thanks for following my blog… I like reading about other crunchy mamas too.

    • Hi Alison,
      That’s a wonderful list! I like your idea of learning new skills. You’ve got a very useful list of things you’d like to learn!

      I need to work on having an open soul, too… that’s so tough for me sometimes. I get too caught up in how I think things ‘should be’ instead of focusing just on the present and how things are.

      I’ve been reading your blog since you were about 20 weeks pregnant. It’s been fun to follow along! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

