Done With Cloth

IMG_0614

Bunkers at about 9 months old in a Thirsties Duo Wrap (size 2)

I try my hardest to be as eco-friendly and non-wasteful as possible, and in our house that involves using cloth in the kitchen (towels, cloth ‘paper towels’, napkins, etc), bathroom (wipes, mostly for Bunkers), and on the baby – diapers.

We’ve really loved using cloth diapers, but for us that time has come to an end. Bunkers is 19 months old and has quite nearly mastered the potty. He knows what poop and pee are and where they go. He’s dry overnight about 90% of the time and only has daytime accidents occasionally.

Recently, we decided to retire the cloth and switch to disposables until Bunkers is ready for underwear. We are using one or two diapers in a 24 hour period, so having to run a load of five or fewer diapers every two days just wasn’t feeling worth it to me. We wash our other cloth items about once a week, and it’s not good for the cloth diapers (or our noses!) to let them go that long.

IMG_0609

It was actually a really hard and sad decision for me – I’ve LOVED cloth diapering! I like folding the nice clean diapers, I like stacking them in the baskets, I like snapping them on my baby. It feels so ‘traditional’ and, well, organic! I just love knowing my son has cotton next to his skin instead of disposable diaper material.

I’ve had several people ask me about cloth diapers. Usually they ask, “What should I get?!” and they honestly have no idea and are quite overwhelmed. I was there once, too! I researched the crap out of cloth diapering and I bought a ‘full stash’ when I was pregnant and you know what? I hardly used any of it! I re-sold most of it and bought everything else new. I’m not saying (at all!) that you should or should not buy diapers used – I did and would do it again – I just think it’s great to have a variety of diapers to try out and see how you like them.

I am going to be making a post on our cloth diapering experience and my tips and recommendations. More so that when people send me messages I can just direct them to that post instead of type it all out again and again! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Done With Cloth

  1. shannon (newbie) says:

    Yay for rhyko doing so well with the potty! What a big boy he’s growing into.
    I have been enjoying your blog posts! Glad I can keep up with u still. Luv ya!

    • I don’t know if it’s our diapers, our detergent or Rhyko’s pee – but his diapers get super, burn your eyes ammonia-y within 24 hours. And I don’t wash clothes that often! Only about once a week, too! Haha! 😉

Leave a Reply

