Cardamom Berry Jam

WP_20130815_001_edited

I found inspiration for this jam on Pomona’s Pectin’s website. I read about a cardamom jelly recipe there in passing (by which I mean while nursing a sleeping toddler!) and never ended up going back to find the recipe. So, when it came time to can blueberries I just winged it! And it all came out delicious!

I didn’t photograph the process because I just didn’t assume I’d be putting it up on my blog AND I just don’t think to take pictures of what I’m cooking! Haha. I’m an amateur blogger, what can I say? But I did take some pictures yesterday while I was making blackberry jelly. I think any kind of berry would be good in this recipe!

At any rate, here’s what I did!

Cardamom Berry Jam

Ingredients:

4 cups mashed and ‘sauced’ berries (cook berries over medium heat for about 15 minutes, all the while mashing. Once soupy, measure. For blackberries and raspberries I strained the mixture to remove most of the seeds)

1/4 cup lemon juice

1 cup honey

1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom

Pomona’s Pectin

Follow cooking and canning directions as detailed in the Pomona’s pectin package. That’s what I do! 🙂

***Add cardamom in the very beginning when you are cooking your berries.

WP_20130814_006[1]

3 thoughts on “Cardamom Berry Jam

Leave a Reply

