Chicken Strips (Ketogenic Diet Friendly)

Chicken strips were one of my favorite foods as a child and I am a bit ashamed to say that I enjoyed them once or twice (or a dozen times) from Safeway during my pregnancy. It was absolute junk comfort food for me at that time! Now that I know they can be made quickly, easily and deliciously at home I no longer have cravings for the commercial stuff with wheat and CAFO chicken.

Behold:

190

Yes, they are as tasty as they look. I promise!

My dear sweet husband actually made these. He really wanted to try them out and Bunkers and I were out, so he whipped them up before we got home. What a guy!

So, the ‘breading’ he used is pork rinds. We buy pork rinds on Amazon for general snacking (Bunkers gets some in his lunch each day. I think DH eats some each day, too. I just eat them when I am feeling snacky, which doesn’t happen very often but I am happy to have pork rinds available for when it does).

We actually buy a product called ‘Pork Dust’ (I still can’t decide if that’s a genius name or a revolting one…) on Amazon to use specifically for recipes such as this (it also works to replace bread crumbs in things like meatloaf!). It’s a little pricey, but this is something we make relatively infrequently (I don’t know why! It’s so tasty!) so the cost is not a burden. We used about 1/2 of the bag to make a ton of chicken strips. You can, however, just crush up pork rinds. I haven’t done this, but I have heard tell of people blitzing their pork rinds in the food processor until they were a bread crumb consistency and that sounds like it would work just as well!

187

Ingredients:

2 chicken breast (1 lb of chicken)

1 egg

1/2 Tablespoon water

1/2 pound of ‘pork dust’ (crushed pork rinds)

Method:

Mix together in bowl egg and water.

Cut chicken breast into strips (1/2 inch by 3-4 inches).

Dip chicken breast into egg mixture and then into bowl containing pork rind bread crumbs, coating chicken strip in pork rind bread crumbs.

Place on baking sheet (recommend parchment paper on sheet).

Cook for 15-18 minutes in pre-heated 425 degree oven.

These are fabulous dipped in mayo (add some chipotle peppers in adobo sauce and make a kickin’ sauce!) or mustard!

Leave a Reply

