Breakfast

We eat the same breakfast everyday, DH and I. Bunkers has some sometimes, too, but he’s not as dedicated as we are and sometimes likes to have something else.

Anyway, we have been eating this breakfast for almost a year and it just never gets old! It’s SO good.

You might read through the ingredients and question some of them or think it might taste gross, but I urge you to try it with all the ingredients and see how it is! To us, it tastes like a delux burger…! I don’t know how that can be… but it does!

As always, I recommend getting local farm fresh eggs. They just taste so much better and you won’t believe me until you try! Every place we have lived I have found local families selling eggs on Craigslist. I go pick up the eggs, so I am able to see the living conditions for the chickens and check out what they are being fed. Usually they are about half the price of store bought organic eggs. Which, is an issue in and of itself! 

If you feel like mixing it up (which sometimes we do!) you can opt to cook up bacon and cut it up into this bowl instead of the sausage. Or pre-cooked chicken!

610Egg Bowl

Ingredients

2-4 eggs (I eat 2, DH eats 4!)

1/3 pound ground pork made into breakfast sausage (click here for recipe!)

1/4 cup sauerkraut (Bubbies is great if you can find that. If not, look for raw organic kraut in the refrigerator section, not the stuff in jars by the ketchup)

1/4 avocado

1 oz cream cheese

1/2 teaspoon horseradish (we also buy Bubbies raw horseradish paste. This is optional, I suppose – but it’s so good! And really good for your immune system! I encourage you to give it a try. I don’t really like horseradish, but I just love these egg bowls!)

Salt and pepper to your liking

Method

Prepare your eggs how you like. Scrambled works great, or fried with runny yolks works great, too! You just cut it up in your bowl to mix with the other ingredients.

Prepare your sausage. We follow this recipe that I have posted here on my blog and just brown it into medium crumbles (larger than how you might prepare taco meat, for example) in a skillet.

Place all ingredients into a large enough bowl and give a good stir. I like to, while the eggs and sausage are cooking, put the rest of the ingredients into my bowl and then pour the hot eggs and sausage on top so the cream cheese melts and the remaining ingredients warm up.

As you can see in the picture, this breakfast goes very well with a nice mug of hot chicken broth, too!

Leave a Reply

