I Ate My Placenta

Yep. I did. I gobbled it all up!

Well, I added it to smoothies immediately postpartum and then had my dear friend encapsulate the rest for me.

image

image

It was something I had planned to do when I was pregnant with bunkers, too, but his birth didn’t go as planned so that didn’t happen.

During my pregnancy with my baby girl I once again wished to consume my placenta and this time I was able to fulfill that wish! And what a difference it has made for me during this postpartum period!

The are many benefits to consuming your placenta, but for me my main interest was in helping postpartum depression.

You can read more about the “whys” here.

Now that I am 10 weeks postpartum I can tell you a few things I feel like eating my placenta has helped with:

– Milk production. It took four long days for my milk to come in after Bunker’s birth. This time it was just 36 hours! And my milk supply has been ample! I just barely made enough when I was pumping for Bunkers.

– Postpartum depression. I’m not even 3 months out from birth, so I realize things can change, but I have none of the intense ‘dread’ I had in the first six months or so after Bunkers was born. In fact, 90% of the time I feel really, really fabulous!

-Nutrition. Placentas have TONS of nutrients in them! It’s been like taking a perfectly formulated multivitamin and I have felt very healthy; I didn’t feel this great even a year after Bunkers was born.

image

Placenta Smoothie Recipe

I did lots of research on placenta smoothies when I was pregnant. I wanted a tasty smoothie but also something packed with nutrition. I picked ingredients from several different things I read and also added in some vitamins and nutrient dense foods to create a tasty and nutrition packed part birth recovery food!

Immediately following the birth, cut three 1.5-inch square pieces from the placenta for your three smoothies. Have your first one immediately postpartum and then the others every 24 hours. After you cut your three pieces you can place the remaining two pieces in the freezer for second and third smoothies. Save the rest of your placenta for encapsulation! Speak with the person doing your encapsulation and see if they want your placenta put in the fridge or freezer.

Blend together:
1 piece of placenta
1/2 can coconut milk (about 1.5 cups)
1/2 an avocado
1/2 cup salted cashews
1/2-1 cup pineapple juice
1 cup frozen blueberries
1 t magnesium powder
1/2 t vitamin c
2 T collagen hydrolysate (protein)
1/2 t Himalayan pink salt
1/2-1 T manuka honey, to desired sweetness
Water as needed for consistency

We used an immersion blender for this and it worked great; we put all of the ingredients into a quart jar and blended away! A strong standard blender will work, too.

I hope I have inspired you to give it a go!

Leave a Reply

