2015 Update!

Things have been a little crazy (in mostly a good way!) around here this year since my last posting!

IS9hjftkmeqhfj1000000000

Firstly, just shortly before my last posting we bought a house. I know, we have literally be renovating and moving the entire time I have been blogging! I really thought we would settle into the condo and be there a while – and that was the plan! We were not looking to move less than a year after buying and moving into our beloved condo! However, I happened to find a house for sale in an area we like with an acre and so we jumped on it. I’m so so glad we did! Things tend to happen for a reason and as the story unfolds I think you’ll see the serendipity, too!

IS9t09t1322tnj1000000000

We bought our new house at the end of January of this year and we had to do some work to it before we could move in, so we got started on that right away. It was built in 1979 and the owners had done next to nothing to the house, so it was in basically original condition! Original carpet, original bathrooms, original kitchen… all very, very 70s and very, very worn. We absolutely had to replace the carpet before we could move in, so our first task was to remove the old carpet and we found that we needed to replace the subfloors as well. Before we had new carpet installed we painted all the interior walls. We also gutted the hallway bathroom to the studs and remodeled that. I will share that in another post. I love the finished bathroom! It was about 6 weeks of work before we could move in, but it was great to have the time to get all of that done.

ISh32rq4plw3gj1000000000
You can see why the carpet had to go…!

ISptn3uxuu6cfj1000000000

After we moved in we had a nice period of rest and relaxation to enjoy our house. In April we went to Hawaii and got to enjoy Kauai for a week. Bunkers just absolutely loved Hawaii and by more serendipity we get to go again next month! You’ll see why…

11169868_10206839831940171_2079884639977918413_n 10458162_10152851330527644_7352971940478673141_n 11159983_10152787798452644_2016113649332914154_n 11181839_10152785076102644_70574360756838495_n

As soon as we got back from Kauai, B had to go to Finland for a work trip for a week and Bunkers and I had a really awesome bonding time while he was gone. I was nervous to parent alone for a week, but it went really smoothly!

That is, until a couple days before B was due home and something urged me to take a pregnancy test. It was faintly positive and I absolutely freaked. I bought more tests of different brands and they were all negative, so I breathed a sigh of relief and tried to forget about it.

B came home and another week came and went and my period was late. I tested again.

YUP. Pregnant. Ooops. Definitely not in the plan! We had literally just decided that we were more than happy with just one kiddo and were planning when B could get the snip.

Serendipitously, my close friend found out at the same time that she’s also pregnant and due 12 days before me. This is funny and ironic because we were actually planning to try and have our second children around the same time so that we could do the new baby thing together this time. Our plan was to have June babies so we were going to wait until about now to get pregnant, but I got cold feet. At a playdate just before I found out I was pregnant she told me she had just found out that she was pregnant already and I told her that was perfect because I had just found out that I didn’t want to have another baby, so I’d support her all the way! Little did I know I was already pregnant. The universe works in mysterious ways!

Initially, I was devastated. I felt like I had finally (finally!) made up my mind and was a peace with the decision to not have any more babies. I felt like my world had been turned upside down. And to top it off we already had a fabulous cruise booked and paid for scheduled for the end of October. You can’t be more than 24 weeks pregnant to board a cruise ship and I will be 28 by then.

Before I even had time to try and process everything I got sick. My midwife says that I was dealing with hyperemesis gravidarum. Starting at 6 weeks and lasting until 16 weeks I was bedridden. In the middle there I literally could only get out of bed to go pee once or twice a day (that’s all the pee I had!) and to puke (about 5-10 times a day) and I would sometimes black out trying to do that. I could hardly eat anything and what I did eat seldom stayed down, even water. I lost 15 pounds in the first few weeks of that and didn’t start regaining any of that weight until after 16 weeks. Here now at 20 weeks I am still 8 pounds under my pre-pregnancy weight!

It was a really, really rough patch for all of us. B and Bunkers were so wonderful. It was stressful for them – B had to do all of his normal work AND all of the household work that I usually did. He had to make all the meals and watch over Bunkers. I was basically useless for the better part of two months. Things gradually started improving by 14 weeks and I could get up and do things in short stints. I finally did a grocery trip with Bunkers all on my own at about 16 weeks and that felt like such an accomplishment!

I don’t really feel like going into any more detail about all of that, other than to say that I was really, really sick. It just sucked big time and it honestly didn’t help the way I was feeling about being pregnant in general!

11800178_10153015973677644_6620640685520308233_n

Thankfully the HG has lifted (some moms have it the whole pregnancy!) and I can eat full meals and take prenatals and supplements and go out and do things! I’m much more at peace with my pregnancy and am really looking forward to having a little girl!

I had the Panorama Maternity 21 test done at 13 weeks and we found out we are, in fact, having a healthy baby girl!

Needless to say, we had to cancel our cruise but we just recently booked a NEW vacation that I think will suffice just fine…

I can handle that!

We have some more interesting things going on right now (our kitchen is down to the studs currently, for example!) but I will save that for another post another day.

But now you’re up to date with me and why I haven’t been posting much at all this year!

One thought on “2015 Update!

Leave a comment